The latest moves and appointments in the museum sector
Museums Association
Arts Council England has announced Nicola Saunders as its new director for business improvement and innovation, and Owen Hopkin as the director for audience insight and innovation. Isabel Wilson has moved to a newly created post of senior manager, museum development.

Judith McNicol has been made the director of the National Railway Museum (NRM), York. She was the director of people and culture for the Science Museum Group, which includes the NRM, from 2015 to 2017. She became the NRM’s acting director in July 2017, replacing Paul Kirkman.

Esme Ward has been appointed the director of Manchester Museum.

Joanne Orr has stepped down from her role as the chief executive officer of Museums Galleries Scotland after 13 years. She will pursue interests in international consultancy in museum development and intangible cultural heritage.

Catherine Woolfitt has been appointed the new subject leader for historic building conservation and repair at West Dean College of Arts and Conservation in West Sussex.

Keswick Museum has appointed a new manager, Becks Skinner, who has worked in the heritage sector for the past nine years. She joins from Crofton Beam Engines in Wiltshire and replaces Sue Mackay, who has become the director of collections and programming at the Thackray Medical Museum in Leeds.

Tate has announced that Pamela Joyner will succeed Jeanne Donovan Fisher as the chair of the Tate Americas Foundation for a five-year term starting this month.

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.


Welcome shift

Melanie Keen, the director of the Wellcome Collection in London, on responding to Covid, Black Lives Matter and ushering in much-needed cultural change
Join the Museums Association today to read this article

Over 12,000 museum professionals have become members — and we've got a 20% discount for new individual members paying by Direct Debit. Join to gain access to exclusive articles, free entry to museums and access to our members events.