Art Fund Museum of the Year judges revealed

Winner to be announced in July 2018
Profile image for Simon Stephens
Simon Stephens
The five judges have been announced for next year’s £140,000 Art Fund Museum of the Year.

The judges are Ian Blatchford, the director of the Science Museum Group; BBC arts correspondent Rebecca Jones; artist Melanie Manchot; and Monisha Shah, an independent media consultant and Art Fund trustee. The judging panel will be chaired by Art Fund director Stephen Deuchar.

The prize is designed to celebrate innovation and exceptional achievement in museums and galleries across the UK. The winner receives £100,000, while the four other shortlisted museums receive £10,000 each.

Hepworth Wakefield won this year’s Art Fund Museum of the Year. The gallery’s director, Simon Wallis, said: “The impact of winning has delivered even greater audience growth this year as the broad media exposure introduced the gallery to new people and convinced those who have long been meaning to visit to finally make the trip.”

Next year’s winner will be announced on 5 July 2018 at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London. The deadline for applications is 6 February 2018 and the five-strong shortlist will be announced at the end of April.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.