UK museums encouraged to enter European award - Museums Association

UK museums encouraged to enter European award

Emya recognises museums’ social impact
Profile image for Rebecca Atkinson
Rebecca Atkinson
Museums in the UK are encouraged to put themselves forward for the European Museum of the Year Award (Emya) 2018, which recognises organisations that work for the benefit of society.

The award is run by the European Museum Forum (EMF) and is open to museums that have opened or completed redevelopments in the past three years.

Past winners, including the Museum of Ethnography in Geneva, Switzerland, in 2017, have been recognised for their work attracting audiences, imaginative interpretation and a creative approach to education and social responsibility.

A judging panel, which this year will be chaired by José Gameiro, the director of the Museu de Portimão in Portugal, will create a list of nominations. Mark O'Neill, an independent researcher and the former director of policy and research at Glasgow Life, will represent the UK on the panel.

The deadline to apply online is 12 June.

Entrants for Emya will also be considered for the Council of Europe Museum Prize for excellence; the Kenneth Hudson Award, which recognises activities that challenge common perceptions of the role of museums in society; and the Silletto Prize, for work with local communities and volunteers.

Past UK winners of Emya include the Riverside Museum in Glasgow in 2013, the National Railway Museum in York in 2001, and Ironbridge Gorge Museum Trust in 1977, when the awards were first launched.


Apply for Emya 2018

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.