Three UK museums nominated for European award - Museums Association

Sign up to our newsletter today and you could win a free membership

Sign up to our newsletter today and you could win a free membership

Three UK museums nominated for European award

Winners will be announced in May
Mariana Cerqueira
Three museums from the UK are among the 42 institutions nominated for the European Museum of the Year Award (Emya) 2015.

The Mary Rose Museum in Portsmouth, the National Football Museum in Manchester and Titanic Belfast make up the UK nominees selected by the judges.

The Emya, which is organised by the European Museum Forum (EMF), judges museums based on their ability to attract and engage visitors creatively. This year's award has also introduced a new commendation to recognise sustainability.

Museums from 20 countries across Europe have been nominated for the award. Germany, Switzerland and the Netherlands lead the way five nominated institutions each.

Consultant Shirley Collier, who is a member of the Emya judging panel, said: "The standard of applications this year has been as high as ever, with museums demonstrating innovation, creativity and ingenuity when addressing their public.

"With many museums now also thinking seriously about sustainability - economic, environmental and social - the introduction of a new commendation for sustainability is timely."

The award was founded in 1977 by the Council of Europe in order to recognise excellence among European museums and encourage innovation. National and privately-owned museums can apply, regardless of their size.

UK museums have won the most awards over the Emya's 37-year history, with a total of six institutions achieving the distinction. Glasgow’s Riverside Museum was the last UK institution to win, receiving the accolade in 2013. The 2014 Emya went to the Museum of Innocence in Istanbul, Turkey.

The results will be announced at next year's European Museum Forum, which takes place on 13-16 May 2015 in Glasgow.

The EMF awards scheme also includes the Council of Europe Museum Prize, the Kenneth Hudson Award and the Silletto Prize. 

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.