ACE reveals identities of five new area directors

Council's restructure to come into effect in July
Patrick Steel
Arts Council England (ACE) has announced the appointment of new area directors, as part of its restructure, which will come into effect on 1 July.

Sarah Maxfield will cover the north, Peter Knott the Midlands, Phil Gibby the south-west, Hedley Swain the south-east and Joyce Wilson London.

They will report to the four executive directors: Simon Mellor, arts and culture; Laura Dyer, national strategy and north, Midlands and the south-west; Moira Sinclair, national strategy and London and the south-east; and a yet-to-be-appointed chief finance officer. Swain’s current role as director for museums and Renaissance will be scrapped.

ACE is restructuring to meet a government requirement to cut its administrative costs by 50% by 2015. As part of the restructure, ACE will make 117.5 posts redundant, with the four executive directors replacing the eight existing executive roles.

The restructure comes as ACE is also having to budget for cuts in its funding from the Department for Culture, Media and Sport. It will lose 1% in 2013-14 and 2% in 2014-15.

This is in addition to a 30% cut announced in the October 2010 spending review. ACE will announce further appointments shortly.

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.