The latest appointments in museums, galleries and heritage 
Museums Association
Matthew Tanner, chief executive of the SS Great Britain Trust, has been elected president of the International Congress of Maritime Museums. 
He takes over from Steve White, president of Mystic Seaport in Connecticut, US. Tanner, who was been chief executive of the SS Great Britain Trust since 2000, will serve a four-year term. 
The Design Museum has recruited the artistic director at the Royal Academy of Arts, Tim Marlow, as chief executive and director. 
He will take over from the museum’s co-directors Deyan Sudjic and Alice Black, who are stepping down in January after 12 years at the helm.
Rebecca Kilner has been appointed director of the Museum of Zoology Cambridge. She will take over from Paul Brakefield, who is retiring. 
Magnum Photos has taken on Caitlin Hughes as chief executive, to lead the agency in its 72nd year. Hughes, who joins Magnum from the advisory firm Halios, will assume responsibility for the agency’s global business, spanning international assignments, IP licensing, e-commerce and events, overseeing offices in Paris, New York, and London. 
Christopher Le Brun will step down as president of the Royal Academy of Arts, London, in December, after eight years in the role. 
Matthew Westerman has been appointed chair of Imperial War Museums’ board of trustees. He will succeed air chief marshal Stuart Peach, who will retire next month after three-and-a-half years in the role. 
Antonio Horta-Osorio has been reappointed as the chair of the Wallace Collection for two years from 1 January 2020 to 31 December 2021. Horta-Osorio joined Lloyds Banking Group in 2011 and became its group chief executive in 2011. He was previously the chief executive of Santander UK and the executive vice president of Grupo Santander.
Sandie Dawe has been appointed to the board of Historic England. Dawe has spent 30 years in the tourism industry, most recently as chief executive of VisitBritain. She led the national strategy to maximise the tourism benefits of the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. 
Also at Historic England, Sue Wilkinson, Helena Hamerow and Ben Derbyshire have become commissioners on the organisation’s board for four years from 1 September 2019 to 30 June 2023. Wilkinson was an executive board director at the National Trust until the end of 2016; Hamerow is professor of early medieval archaeology in the Faculty of History and the School of Archaeology, University of Oxford; and Derbyshire is the chair at design consultancy HTA Design.
Henrietta Gleave has been appointed as a trustee of the Treasure Valuation Committee for two years. Gleave advises on a range of matters relating to art and cultural property law.

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.


Welcome shift

Melanie Keen, the director of the Wellcome Collection in London, on responding to Covid, Black Lives Matter and ushering in much-needed cultural change
Join the Museums Association today to read this article

Over 12,000 museum professionals have become members — and we've got a 20% discount for new individual members paying by Direct Debit. Join to gain access to exclusive articles, free entry to museums and access to our members events.