The Victoria and Albert Museum was named Museum of the Year 2016

Art Fund ups Museum of the Year prize money

Simon Stephens, 14.12.2016
Deadline for applications is 7 February 2017
The prize money for next year’s Museum of the Year has increased 40% to £140,000, the Art Fund announced this week.

In addition to the usual £100,000 awarded to the winner, each of the other four shortlisted museums will get £10,000 each.

The Art Fund is also expanding the access work that accompanies the prize and will be working with a larger network of partners to help the shortlisted museums create opportunities for visitors with autism, dementia and other special needs.

It already works with VocalEyes, a charity that helps improve access to museums for blind and partially sighted people, and Stagetext, which helps make culture accessible to deaf, deafened and hard of hearing people.

The judges for the 2017 Art Fund Museum of the Year are artist Richard Deacon; Hartwig Fischer, the director of the British Museum; Munira Mirza, former deputy mayor of London for education and culture; and the BBC Radio 2 DJ and presenter Jo Whiley.

The panel will be chaired by the Art Fund director Stephen Deuchar.

Applications close on 7 February 2017. The shortlist will be announced April next year and the winner will be revealed on 5 July 2017 at the British Museum.

London’s Victoria and Albert Museum won the Museum of the Year 2016.


Sort by: Most recent - Most liked
14.12.2016, 16:58
Moving away from the winner takes all approach is a good idea but the complete dominance of arts museums, projects and galleries for this prize is making the whole thing very narrow and arts biased. There were no heritage sites, social or natural history, community, science, industrial or transport museums amongst the finalists last year and I wonder whether any felt it was worth applying. With its current funder this scheme no longer reflects the breadth of the museum and heritage sector but has become yet another narrowly focussed arts award.