Museums urged to apply for Emya 2019 - Museums Association

Museums urged to apply for Emya 2019

Closing date for award nominees extended to 16 April
Profile image for Geraldine Kendall Adams
Geraldine Kendall Adams
The European Museum of the Year Award (Emya) has extended its deadline for 2019 applicants until 16 April.

Organisers said the original 2 April closing date, which falls earlier than previous years to allow more time for judges’ visits, may have taken some museums by surprise. They hope the extension will give more prospective candidates a chance to apply.

The award, which is run by the European Museums Forum, aims to recognise excellence and encourage innovation in European museums.

The award is open to new museums that opened to the public in the past three years or established museums that have undergone substantial redevelopment over the same period.

In addition to the main award, the EMF distributes a number of other prizes and special commendations, including the Silletto Prize for excellence in community and volunteer engagement, and the Council of Europe Prize, which recognises museums that put a particular emphasis on European perspectives and values such as democracy, human rights, tolerance and inter-cultural dialogue.

“Emya is going back to its roots in celebrating innovation in development of the public purpose of museums," said David Anderson, the director of Amgueddfa Cymru (National Museum Wales), who will deliver a keynote speech at the 2018 award ceremony in Warsaw this May.

"Now more than ever, Europe needs organisations that champion cultural rights and democratic participation."

Previous Emya-winners include the Museum of Ethnography in Geneva (2017) and the Polin Museum of the History of Polish Jews (2016). The most recent UK winner was Glasgow’s Riverside Museum (2013).

The Mary Rose Museum in Portsmouth, and London’s Design Museum and Science Museum are among the 2018 nominees.


Emya 2019 application details

Leave a comment

You must be signed in to post a comment.