Ethics Committee - Museums Association

Conference 2024: The Joy of Museums booking open now – Book before 31 March 2024 for a 10% discount

Conference 2024: The Joy of Museums booking open now – Book before 31 March 2024 for a 10% discount

Ethics Committee

The aim of the ethics committee is to create a culture in UK museums that embraces ethical practice so that people working in museums:

  • Recognise responsibility for practising and promoting ethical behaviour
  • See ethics as a positive force, responsive to developing professional and public views, and underpinning change and improvement
  • Regard an awareness and discussion of ethics as the norm, connecting all museums and playing a role in planning and decision making

The ethics committee develops and promotes the understanding of ethical principles, practice and issues within the museum community.

The ethics committee is regularly asked to provide confidential advice on specific issues that arise in individual museums. The committee acts as a sounding board and critical friend to promote good ethical practice in the museum community.

Occasionally, in difficult cases, a substantial investigation needs to be undertaken and individual ethics committee members help with this if they have appropriate experience or expertise.

For all ethical queries, please contact our collections development lead Sarah Briggs in the first instance:



Michael Terwey
Michael is director of public engagement and research at the National Trust for Scotland.


Dominique Bouchard
Dominique is head of learning and interpretation at English Heritage.

Niels de Vos
Niels is chairman at Birmingham Museums Trust.

Jenny Durrant
Jenny is an independent researcher, writer and consultant.

Sofia Lazaridi
Sofia is development officer (trusts and foundations) at Amgueddfa Cymru – Museum Wales.

Agrippa Njanina
Agrippa is community engagement officer for Global Voices Local Choices at National Museums Northern Ireland.

Adrian Parkhouse
Adrian is a partner at Farrer & Co. He heads the firm’s Commercial Litigation team and co-chairs its Art Group.

Chanté St Clair Inglis
Chanté is director of heritage at the Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh.