Derry-Londonderry celebrates being the first UK City of Culture

Bids for UK City of Culture 2017 announced

Patrick Steel, 06.03.2013
Across the UK 11 places are on the list
Around the UK 11 places are bidding to become the UK City of Culture in 2017.

They are: Aberdeen; Chester; Dundee; East Kent (Ashford, Canterbury, Dover, Folkestone and Thanet); Hastings and Bexhill-on-Sea; Hull; Leicester; Plymouth; Portsmouth and Southampton; Southend on Sea; and Swansea Bay (Swansea, Carmarthenshire, Neath and Port Talbot).

The 11 have until 30 April to submit an initial bid, which will be considered by an independent advisory panel chaired by Phil Redmond. A shortlist will be announced in June.

Redmond said: “The UK City of Culture can be a real catalyst for change and I’m delighted so many places have registered their interest in the competition for 2017.

“Together with the panel I’m looking forward to receiving some ambitious and dynamic bids that highlight the very best of local cultural talent, along with delivering a realistic programme that will appeal to as wide an audience as possible.”

Derry-Londonderry was named the UK’s first City of Culture in July 2010, and plans to have 2,800 tourism jobs by 2020 as a legacy of its nomination for the award.