MA Board

The MA Board is the association's governing body. Members come from all parts of of the UK museums community, and are directly elected by the membership. 

The members of the board are directors of a company limited by guarantee and trustees of a charity.

The Board is responsible to the membership of the association for ensuring that the organisation is administered in a way that complies with all legal, financial and other relevant regulations.

It is also responsible to the membership for ensuring that the Association fulfils its aims and objectives.

Board members


09022011-david-flemingDavid Fleming
Director, National Museums Liverpool


05042016-heledd-fychan-boardHeledd Fychan
Corporate affairs and advocacy manager, Amgueddfa Cymru – National Museum Wales

09022011-david-andersonDavid Anderson
Director-general, Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales

06062014-hazel-edwards-boardHazel Edwards
Associate Dean, Research & Innovation, University of the West of England, Faculty of Arts, Creative Industries & Education

07082013-iain-watsonIain Watson
Director, Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums

09022011-Rowan-BrownRowan Brown
Director, Woodhorn Charitable Trust

10072011-board-memberAnna Brennand
Chief executive, Ironbridge Gorge Museum

30042013-maggie-appletonMaggie Appleton
Chief executive, Royal Air Force Museum

05042016-dhikshana-preingDhikshana Pering
Manager, young people’s programmes, London Transport Museum

14072014-paddy-gilmorePaddy Gilmore
Director of learning and partnership, National Museums Northern Ireland

05042016-alex-bird-boardAlex Bird Sector development officer, Museum Development North West

David Liddiment, creative director, All3Media


The MA’s constitution (pdf) 

Job description of the role of Trustee (pdf)