National Heritage Centre for Horseracing and Sporting Art, Newmarket

Art Fund Museum of the Year finalists announced

Emily Bright, 28.04.2017
Five museums are in the running for the £100,000 award
The shortlist for the Art Fund Museum of the Year was revealed last night, with the result to be announced at a ceremony on 5 July at the British Museum.

The finalists are the Lapworth Museum of Geology in Birmingham, the National Heritage Centre for Horseracing and Sporting Art in Newmarket, Sir John Soane’s Museum in London, Tate Modern, and The Hepworth Wakefield.

The winning museum will receive £100,000, and in a new development this year, the other finalists will each receive £10,000.

On this year’s jury are the British sculptor Richard Deacon, the former London deputy mayor for culture and education Munira Mirza, the radio DJ and television presenter Jo Whiley, and the British Museum director Hartwig Fischer. Art Fund director Stephen Deuchar will chair the jury.

Deuchar said: “Each of these museums has had a remarkable year, reaching – in a range of ways – new heights in their efforts to serve and inspire their visitors. Whether unveiling new buildings, galleries, displays or public programmes, all the finalists have shown a real commitment to innovation and experimentation, offering fresh perspectives and news ways of seeing and understanding their collections.”

The judging criteria include undertaking projects that provide a lasting legacy, inspiring and engaging public understanding, providing innovative outreach programmes and generating enthusiastic support from visitors.

Previous winners include the V&A (2016), the Yorkshire Sculpture Park (2014) and the British Museum (2011).


Sort by: Most recent - Most liked
Jonathan Gammond
Access , Wrexham County Borough Museum
09.05.2017, 23:25
Anyone know if the Lapworth is going to be good enough to break the iron grip that 'art' has on the Art Fund prize. I have just had a look at the list of winners of the prize since 2008 and art curators appear to be on a winning streak!