Science Museum Group director Ian Blatchford. Photograph by Phil Sayer

SMG’s Ian Blatchford named in New Year honours

Jessica Browne-Swinburne, 09012019
Several other museums professionals receive awards
Ian Blatchford, the director and chief executive of the Science Museum Group, has received a knighthood for services to cultural education.

Blatchford is one of several museum and heritage sector professionals to be honoured.

OBEs have been awarded to Sam Mullins, the director of London Transport Museum; Mike O’Connor, the deputy director of the National Army Museum; Caroline Collier, the director of partnerships and programmes at Tate; Andrew Nairne, the director of Kettle’s Yard at the University of Cambridge; Malcolm Colson, the retired curator of the Parliamentary Art Collection; archaeologist and heritage consultant Helen Maclagan; Steve Trow, the retired director of research at Historic England; and archaeologist Christopher Lynn.

MBEs have been awarded to Ann Dumas, a curator at the Royal Academy of Arts; Andrea Nixon, former executive director of Tate Liverpool; Stephen Foster, former director of the University of Southampton’s John Hansard Gallery; Sharon Granville, the former executive director of National Museums Liverpool; Ros Westwood, the museum manager of Buxton Museum and Art Gallery; Peter Nixon, the director of conservation at the National Trust; and archaeologist Stan Beckensall, for services to prehistoric rock art and history.

British Empire Medals have gone to Ann Robson Speirs, the history curator at Bute Museum; Elizabeth Asprey for her services to museums in Saltash and South East Cornwall; William Espie, the curator at the RAF Regiment Heritage Centre in Suffolk; and Daphne Woodhouse, librarian and director of Powysland Club historical society.