IWM Duxford AirSpace gallery. Image by permission of the Imperial War Museum

Applications open for Jodi Awards

Rebecca Atkinson, 03.12.2014
Digital access awards simplified for 2015
Applications have opened for the Jodi Awards 2015, which recognises the best use of digital technology in widening access for disabled people.

The awards, which are run by the Jodi Mattes Trust, are open to organisations of all sizes and for low- or hi-tech projects.

Previous winners include MShed in Bristol in 2011 for PenFriend, an audio labelling device, and Imperial War Museum Duxford in 2009 for an audioguide for blind and partially sighted people.


Have museums got better at providing digital access for disabled people?

The prize was last awarded in 2013 at the Museums Association conference in Liverpool, with the audio description charity VocalEyes winning an award for its project London Beyond Sight. 

Imperial War Museum Duxford won the access planning and user engagement award for its Historic Duxford project and the Valentin Haüy Association in France won the international award for digital access online for its Éole website.

The awards have been managed by a committee of volunteers since 2013 and are now made on an annual basis.

Heather Smith, a Jodi Awards committee member and an access and equality specialist for the National Trust, said there were a number of changes to the 2015 awards, including making all the awards open to international entries.

“We have also taken away the different categories and will instead just have the Jodi Awards focusing on the overall excellence of a piece of work,” she said. “We felt that this approach would be simpler for people to understand and allow us to judge the overall merit of the work rather than focusing on a specific aspect of it.”

The deadline for applications is 26 January, and the awards will be announced in May. More information and application forms are available on the Jodi Mattes Trust website. 


The Jodi Awards

Update: 14/01/2015

This article was updated after the deadline for applications was extended from 12 to 26 January